

For Immediate Release June 11, 2024

Contact: Susan Summers

240-446-3601

Maryland Agriculture Council Leadership Elected

Faith Elliott Rossing of Henderson was elected president of the Maryland Agriculture Council Board of Directors during its April 16th board meeting. Having served as vice president during the past year, she replaces outgoing leader, Matt Teffeau of Annapolis.

Rossing joined the Council board in 2003 and served as president in 2006-07. She held the role of secretary from 2010-17, resigning for a few years before rejoining the board in 2020. In addition to her leadership roles, she served as chair of Grant Committee for several years.

"During my 18-year year tenure on the Maryland Agriculture Council Board, I have witnessed multiple changes in political leadership, agricultural leadership in key political appointments and intense changes in agricultural legislation and regulations," Rossing said.

"With each change, I have also witnessed the resiliency and dedication of the agricultural community to protect the industry and their way of life and livelihood with a respect and tenacity bar none," she said. "While other lobbying organizations approach the industry challenges differently, the Maryland Agriculture Council has stayed with course, building relationships with legislators and hosting the annual Maryland Taste of Agriculture event - designed to bring the agricultural and legislative communities together. Through conversation and sharing the local bounty - the two collide."

Rossing said Council leaders have changed the format, the venue and the menu over the years to stay relevant but remain "dedicated to the mission of providing delicious local agricultural products and a safe space to continue difficult conversations."

"It has been my honor to continue to serve such a dedicated organization," Rossing shared.

Dr. Faith Elliott Rossing lives on her great-grandparents' farm in Queen Anne's County. Currently retired from 23 years with Queen Anne's County Government, she remains actively involved in 4-H as a club advisor, serves as the treasurer for the Queen Anne's County 4-H Park Board and loves spending time with family and friends.

Robert C. "Robbie" Miller of Lincoln University, PA, was elected vice president of the organization and Kayla Griffith of Lothian will continue to fill the role of secretary. Henry Brandt of Centreville was re-elected as treasurer.

The newly elected board members were Tyler Majchrzak of Hartley, DE, Kevin Donnelly of Smithsburg, Rob Cooper of Alexandria, VA, and Jenell McHenry of Kennedyville. Re-elected board members, serving a two-year term, were, Doug Lechlider of Laytonsville, C. John Sullivan III of Fallston, Crystal Pickett of Mt. Airy, Karen Engel of Keymar, George Grillon of Taneytown, Robert Black of Thurmont, Vanessa Finney of Brooklandville, Scott Youse of Ridgely, Zach Evans of Salisbury, Jennifer Cross of Brandywine and Rossing.

The Council is best known for organizing the annual Taste of Maryland Agriculture on the first Thursday of February. The premier gala brings together agricultural leaders with state and national legislators to promote agriculture and educate lawmakers about its importance to the state's economy and its people.

For more information on the Maryland Agriculture Council, go to www.mdagcouncil.com or contact Executive Director Susan Summers at 240-446-3601.

###

